Review: Amour Amour

Love is a circus

“Every day,” he says lowly, “I hold a person’s life in my hands. The circus is based one-hundred percent off trust. I give it all to someone, and they give it all to me.”

The best aerial technique won’t land 21-year-old Thora James her dream role in Amour—a sexy new acrobatic show on the Vegas strip. Thora knows she’s out of her element the second she meets Amour’s leading performer. Confident, charming and devilishly captivating, 26-year-old Nikolai Kotova lives up to his nickname as the “God of Russia.”

When Thora unknowingly walks into the crosshairs of Nikolai’s after-show, her audition process begins way too soon. Unprofessional. That’s what Nik calls their “non-existent” relationship. It’s not like Thora can avoid him. For one, they may be partners in the future–acrobatic partners, that is. But getting closer to Nik means diving deeper into sin city and into his dizzying world.

Thora wants to perform with him, but when someone like Nikolai attracts the spotlight wherever he goes—Thora fears that she’s destined to be just background to his spellbinding show.

The Ritchie twins have done it again!! Their Addicted series is one of my absolute favourite series of all times so, naturally (?) I was a bit hesitant to go into Amour Amour , afraid that it could never live up to my expectations; I stand corrected. Amour Amour is just as magical as it promises to be.

Thora James, Amour Amour’s main character and narrator is one of the most positive, most courageous book characters I’ve ever encountered in my 10 years of reading. She is her own biggest supporter and cheerleader and, no matter what, she never gives up on her dreams – a mindset I could really use right now. She is determined, and even though she knows she does not posess Nikolai’s confidence, she never lets the fact get to her and ruin her spirit or poison her feelings for him. Nikolai is not exactly my type of character; he is a bit too serious, too in-control for my taste. However, I was rooting for him and Thora from day one; their dynamic, their chemistry and their unfaltering feelings for each other turned Amour Amour into one of the best romance novels I’ve ever read.

I think at this point I should mention my love for Timo Kotova, Nikolai’s younger, wilder brother. Timo is magnetic; he is full of life, he is funny, he is so brilliant, my heart ached to read more of him. Now, I know Infini comes out in just 3 days (yaaay!), but I can’t help but wish for a Timo standalone in the near future. **SPOILER!** Plus, his relationship with John was one of the most interesting, fun parts of the novel for me, and I am dying to see more of their banter and extraordinary chemistry. **END OF SPOILER** 

While I was reading Amour Amour I was taken aback by Krista and Becca’s super power. Their super power? Family. If there is one thing these girls can write, that’s family bonds. Both Addicted and Amour Amour rely heavily on the power of family,the unique dynamics formed amongst siblings, their undying, unwavering love for one another. The Kotovas love each other as fiercely as the Calloways did, and their love is palpable and so vivid it almost has a life outside the book’s pages. And it was exactly those treasured family moments that sent shivers down my spine and flooded my eyes with tears.

 

Just a quick reminder: INFINI COMES OUT JANUARY 31ST!!!! 

Leave a Reply

