Review: Definitions of Indefinable Things

This heartbreaking, humorous novel is about three teens whose lives intersect in ways they never expected.

Reggie Mason is all too familiar with “the Three Stages of Depression.” She believes she’s unlocked the secret to keeping herself safe: Nobody can hurt you if you never let them in.

Reggie encounters an unexpected challenge to her misanthropy: a Twizzler-chomping, indie film-making narcissist named Snake. Snake’s presence, while reassuring, is not exactly stable—especially since his ex-girlfriend is seven months pregnant. As Reggie falls for Snake, she must decide whether it’s time to rewrite the rules that have defined her.

It took me a while to gather up my thoughts about this one well enough to write a review. The first half of the book was quite promising, but – if I’m being honest – things went south afterwards.

I immediately liked sarcastic, witty Reggie whose experiences and struggles hit a bit too close to home. Her depression and her attitude towards life are things I’m all too familiar with. Snake, however, I couldn’t connect to. Maybe his lines were a bit too made-up and pretentious; maybe it’s because we only get Reggie’s POV. Anyhow, I was totally indifferent towards him.

While I found Taylor’s depiction of depression quite accurate and not romanticized or sugar-coated, I did not enjoy the overall plot. It’s too common, a storyline that’s been told by millions of authors millions of times. Apart from its accuracy concerning mental illness nothing sets it apart.

I had two main issues with this book: First, I just could not care about Reggie and Snake’s relationship. Not one bit. I liked her better in her solo scenes, I never cared for him and their romance was just one trope and cliché after the other. Overused and overdone and never, never interesting. I wanted to root for them, I really did. But, at the end of the day, I cared more about Reggie’s dynamic and relationship with Carla.

My second issue is the book’s ending. While Taylor did a phenomenal – in my opinion – job at portraying mental illness in the course of her book, the ending was too unrealistic, a desperate attempt to make this cuter and fluffier than it needed to be.

**A digital ARC was provided via Netgalley in exchange of an honest review.**

Leave a Reply

