The Throne of Fire, by Rick Riordan

Ever since the gods of Ancient Egypt were unleashed in the modern world, Carter Kane and his sister Sadie have been in trouble. As descendants of the House of Life, the Kanes have some powers at their command, but the devious gods haven’t given them much time to master their skills at Brooklyn House, which has become a training ground for young magicians.

And now their most threatening enemy yet – the chaos snake Apophis – is rising. If they don’t prevent him from breaking free in a few days’ time, the world will come to an end. In other words, it’s a typical week for the Kane family.

To have any chance of battling the Forces of Chaos, the Kanes must revive the sun god Ra. But that would be a feat more powerful than any magician has ever accomplished.

First they have to search the world for the three sections of the Book of Ra, then they have to learn how to chant its spells. Oh, and did we mention that no one knows where Ra is exactly?

Narrated in two different wisecracking voices, featuring a large cast of new and unforgettable characters, and with adventures spanning the globe, this second installment in the Kane Chronicles is nothing short of a thrill ride.

 

I hate that I read this during exam period. My exams kept me from finishing this in one sitting (as I usually do with Riordan’s books), and I feel like, because of that, I didn’t enjoy this as much as I would normally have. I read it sporadically and slowly and, because of that, it seemed a bit slower, more inconsistent than its predecessor. Was it really slow? Did it suffer from the second-book-of-a-trilogy syndrome? I guess I’ll never know.

Even if I didn’t enjoy it as much as the first book of the series I can still appreciate it. The characters really grew on me, and I love them a thousand times more than I did. I enjoyed the relationship that developed between Sadie and Zia – if I’m being honest I couldn’t help but wish for a f/f romance – and the way Sadie and Carter’s relationship developed. I’ve said this before; getting to read both their POVs and see exactly how their relationship and their feelings towards each other develop is the best part of this series for me. As for the secondary characters? Absolutely perfect. Walt, Zia, Bes, Bast, even Anubis and the rest of the gods make up such an interesting cast of characters I almost didn’t care that the action scenes fell a bit short.

Riordan’s characteristic sense of humour was once again present. Perhaps because I read this one in English – as opposed to the first one that I read in Greek – I enjoyed the jokes and the puns a lot more. It’s always fun to see how a character’s sense of humour develops and how it stands out from someone else’s.

Overall? It was a decent book. Again, due to the circumstances, I can’t be completely objective. I think it set up a nice tone for the conclusion of the series and set off an interesting set of events, but it felt a lot more like a stepping stone than a book that could stand on its own ground and merits. I thought trying to stop Apophis from rising was going to be epic; instead it felt a tiny bit underwhelming.

Leave a Reply

