ARC Review: Teen Titans Vol. 1: Damian Knows Best & Justice League vs. Suicide Squad

Teen Titans Vol. 1: Damian Knows Best

That was my first ever Teen Titans comic book. I was already semi-familiar with the characters, due to their very popular animated series, so I had a general idea of what to expect and what I was getting myself into. I did not, however, expect to love them as much as I did. Admittedly, Damian stole the show; his raw strength and power as a character overshadowed his team on many occasions, and with the storyline focusing primarily on him it was to be expected. That’s not to say that the rest of them were boring or one-dimensional, just that Damian appeared far more compelling. I especially enjoyed the rival team, a team that was a very fun and interesting addition to an already intriguing storyline!

Overall rating: 4/5 stars

 

Justice League vs. Suicide Squad

Justice League vs. Suicide Squad is definitely one of the most interesting events in recent DC history. With a cast of characters we already know and love, a compelling storyline, and beautiful artwork and action sequences, it is what dreams are made of. The cast may have been enormous, but everyone’s personality and strengths shone throughout the pages, marking the event as one of the most on point characterizations I’ve seen in a while. I have to admit that, at first, I was hesitant because of the power imbalance, because – let’s be honest for a second – every and any member of the League would have been able to take down the entire Squad in a matter of seconds, singlehandedly. I think that the creative team recognized this imbalance and handled it in the best, most believable way possible. It was a story full of plot-twists and surprises, one that I ended up loving far more than I expected.

Overall rating: 5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

