San Junipero

AAAAAAAAA!!!!

Believe it or not, this is actually a very accurate summary of my feelings and reactions while I was watching San Junipero. For those of you who don’t know what San Junipero is, let me explain: San Junipero is the fourth episode of the third season of Black Mirror, a Netflix Series.

In San Junipero, a seaside town, Yorkie, a shy woman in her mid-twenties meets Kelly, a black, outgoing woman, who enjoys partying and dancing – and apparently Yorkie’s company. The two women strike up a bond, a bond that seems to defy the laws of time and space, in a prime example of well-done sci-fi. Worry not! You do not need to have watched Black Mirror before to watch and enjoy San Junipero. Every episode is a completely new story with a completely new cast. So, whether you’d like to watch the show in its entirety or just enjoy this sapphic masterpiece, here are all the reasons you need to watch San Junipero:

  • Sapphic representation: Let’s meet our protagonists, shall we? We have Kelly, a bisexual, black woman and Yorkie, a lesbian. A bisexual character!! A bisexual, main character!!! Shocking, right? It goes beyond just that, though. Neither Kelly nor Yorkie had ever been with a woman before; yet both of them were completely certain on their sexualities. And, in a society that far too often says “Yes, but have you ever been with a woman before?” to its sapphic girls, this is extremely important. Their sexualities are both valid and equally important and the show wants you to know that.
  • The outfits and the music: San Junipero is set in the 1980s. You know what that means? It’s full of 80s bops and the outfits are G-L-O-R-I-O-U-S! Yes, Yorkie does dress like an adorable grandpa; but Kelly’s outfits are outstanding and always on point. Seriously, just watch it for the aesthetic.
  • The ending: You will not be disappointed. I’m not talking about how the story ends; I’m talking about the characters and the closure they get at the end of the episode. I’d hate to spoil it, but, trust me, it’s worth it (and if you are familiar with Black Mirror as a whole, let me just say that it’s completely different from anything else you’ve previously seen on the show).
  • Sci-fi: I honestly thought I was just going to get cute and fluffy sapphic content going into this one. I genuinely didn’t really care what the main story arc was going to be; and it ended up blowing.my.mind.away. Again, I don’t want to spoil anything so I’m not giving any hints, but this is how you do sci-fi. It had me guessing the whole time, always keeping me on edge and wondering. A great storyline, with a great mystery and an epic reveal at the end.

 

Pleaseeeeee watch it, you’re not going to regret it!!

Leave a Reply

