The Return of the King (The Lord of the Rings, #3), by J.R.R. Tolkien

“Well, here at last, dear friends, on the shores of the Sea comes the end of our fellowship in Middle-earth. Go in peace! I will not say: do not weep; for not all tears are an evil.”

And I did it, folks!! I finally read the Lord of the Rings trilogy! And, let me tell you, it was a wild ride! The Return of the King is, undoubtedly, my favourite book out of the three; I often found myself on the verge of tears, wishing this book would never end.

For the first time while reading this trilogy I enjoyed the good vs. bad dichotomy of the characters. It was so easy, so effortless to root for the heroes, to wish they survive, to watch them win and prosper. Their adventures had me glued on the pages! I liked them in the previous books; but now I loved them, I rooted for them, I was almost there with them.

For me, this was the most majestic out of the three books. The battle scenes were epic, the pace was fast, and I was in a state of constant agony: Who’s going to survive? Are they all going to make it? Will my king, Aragorn, rise? All these questions made me turn the pages as fast as I could, making my reading experience of The Return of the King a very enjoyable one.

Of course, I can’t not mention my biggest love of the series: Aragorn. Honestly, I could read a library full of books about him. He is brave, he is fair, he is every bit the hero I deserve and I love him 100%. If Aragorn hadn’t made it? Trust me, I was ready and willing to raise hell. A big surprise for me was Éowyn, whom I came to love almost as much as Aragorn. To be honest, by the end of the book, I loved every character so much I thought my heart was going to burst. I feel like I should take back everything I’ve ever said about not loving these characters as much as I could have; because, right now, I love them so so much.

As for the ending? It actually had me crying like a little baby. I couldn’t believe how fond I had grown of these characters, how much I came to love and care about them. This final instalment of Tolkien’s classic masterpiece made me realize that I may have found a new safe haven and a new literary home in Middle-Earth.

Leave a Reply

