Pillow Thoughts, by Courtney Peppernell

Pillow Thoughts is a collection of poetry and prose, one that is divided into sections to read when you need or want to. Peppernell’s poems are honest, raw, and authentic and that’s what made them really special.

I think I liked her poems more and more as the book progressed. At first, I thought it would be just a decent, pleasant collection; an enjoyable one, but nothing too memorable. Things, however, changed when I realized she was talking about f/f relationships. What?? I know, right? Poems about f/f relationships? Poems that beautifully and honestly depict what it feels like to be in love with a woman? Written by a woman confident in her own sexuality, eager to depict these – often ignored or overlooked – relationship in a positive, realistic way? Amazing.

What I really loved was the way Peppernell showed sapphic relationship. There were cute, domestic moments that we don’t often see in mainstream media; and no scene in any poem oversexualized f/f pairings, as so often happens. I really enjoyed this fresh, authentic perspective of something that means so much to me.

Overall, it was a good collection, one that made me want to read more by the author, which is why I’m picking up her The Road Between next.

 

**An ARC was provided via Netgalley in exchange of an honest review**

Leave a Reply

