The Road Between, by Courtney Peppernell

The Road Between is a poetry collection by Courtney Peppernell, an author I feel is slowly becoming a new favourite of mine. She has, once again, delivered a well-thought out collection, where her honesty, talent, and unique way of storytelling shine once more.

The Road Between was another pleasant collection of poems. Her poems are easy to read, relatable, and fun. I like the themes and the way she uses the English language; had it been another author, someone less talented or someone I couldn’t relate to, I’d probably find her way of writing way too simple. But it works for her, and it works wonderfully.

Her second collection is also divided into sections. My personal favourites where “the closet”, “the sky” and “the home”. The closet especially struck close to home; it was the most relatable section out of them all for me, voicing so many of my fears, thoughts, and worries. I can’t believe I actually spent my day reading sapphic-themed poetry, both of her collections have been such an unexpected gem. Like I said in my review of her previous work, I really like the way she portrays f/f relationships, attributing to further normalizing them. I think I will always be thankful for the amount of healthy representation I’ve gotten through her work.

 

**An ARC was provided via Netgalley in exchange of an honest review**

Leave a Reply

