The Book of Broadway: The 150 Definitive Plays and Musicals, by Eric Grode

The Book of Broadway is definitely a bizarre book. And when I say bizarre, I mean that it can’t be read in the way most books can. Or at least, I couldn’t read it like that. I couldn’t just sit down with a cup of coffee and read this book. That’s what I ended up doing, but I believe this was the reason why I didn’t enjoy it as much. I believe this is a book that should just sit on your bookshelf until you feel like reading a little Broadway gossip, or if you want to find a new musical to watch or listen to. So, if you want to read it, here’s my advice: this book is not fiction and should not be read as such.

That been said, it was a fairly interesting book. It included many of Broadway’s most important and popular plays, some bits of background history and backstage gossip to keep things light and interesting, and a little synopsis as well as the original cast and creators. I did skip some plays that didn’t particularly interest me, but the plays I read, I enjoyed. Whether I was already familiar with them or not, whether I had listened to the recordings or not, I could always find something that’d keep me interested; but, with only 2 pages being dedicated to each play, that wasn’t a difficult task to begin with. Another thing I enjoyed were the pictures that’d accompany each play, offering a glimpse into the glamorous world of Broadway.

**An ARC was provided via Netgalley in exchange of an honest review**

Leave a Reply

