bone, by Yrsa Daley-Ward

Bone is, quite frankly, simply stunning. Daley-Ward’s talent is so rare, so big, that her words left me shaking to my core. Hers is a poetry book that I know I’ll go back to again and again and again, through different stages of my life, just because each time I’ll get something more from it.

Her writing, which appealed so much to me, is not for everyone; she was a very distinct way of writing, one that will definitely set her apart from her peers and fellow poets. Poetry is, almost by definition, a peculiar genre; no two people in this world ever enjoy the exact same poetry or interpret it the exact same way. If you’re not yet sure which kind of poetry you’re into, or if you’re looking for something different, then this is definitely the book for you.

The entire book felt like a very first, rough draft, almost like a rough diamond. This way of writing only strengthens her message; it’s raw, it’s honest, and unabashedly true and authentic. She never shies away from the ugly reality and she uses her art very beautifully to share her struggles and her story. Her art touched my soul and I will be quick to read any other book she publishes.

**An ARC was provided via Netgalley in exchange of an honest review**

Leave a Reply

